Reviews - Manor Country Hotel & Restaurant

Overnight stay - Rating 4/5

Friendly staff, great food, value for money.

Reviewer:Mrs Barbara Templar | Mon 18th Sep 2017


Recent holiday - Rating 5/5

Memories of our stay at the Manor Country House will remain with us. The hospitality shown was second to none - made to feel like part of the family. Breakfast fills you for most of the day - no walking back and forth for juice or toast here! Restaurant fantastic selection - only downside was no room left for sweet afterwards!

Reviewer:Andrew Gamblin | Mon 4th Sep 2017


A nice weekend - Rating 3/5

stayed at Hotel for 2 nights, comfortable, good food &very friendly,helpfull staff.

Reviewer:David Smith | Mon 21st Aug 2017


The best place to stay Dumfries! - Rating 5/5

We have stayed at the Manor a few times now and we love it. We are always made to feel welcome, the staff are very friendly and so are the locals. Our 4 year old daughter has made a lot of friends and is always asking to go back! The family room we stayed was clean and comfortable and a good size for the 3 of us.The full Scottish breakfast was excellent and I can recommend the steak it\'s beautiful!If you are looking for a warm friendly atmosphere with good food and clean comfy rooms the Manor is definitely the place to stay, we will be back again in the year they won\'t be able to get rid of us now!Tracy, John and wee Aine x

Response

Thank you John for your kind comments and it was great to see the three of you again. Wee Aine is a treasure and brings a smile to everyone\'sfaces. And don\'t be wasting Red Wine in pies. Its meant to be in a wine glass! Kind regards,Ken and all at the Manor

Reviewer:John O\'Connell | Sun 28th May 2017


Weekend away - Rating 5/5

Very friendly and helpful staff that couldn\'t do enough for you the family room was massive losds of space very clean and tidy we will definitely visit again

Response

Thank you Paul for your kind comments. It was good to meet you and hopefully if you are in this part of the country again you will visit us. Kind regards Ken.

Reviewer:Mr. paul wigglesworth | Mon 10th Apr 2017


3 night stay - Rating 5/5

Our family stayed for 3 nights Ken &Caroline and their staff were brilliant the food and service and hospitality was first class

Reviewer:Mr. BRYAN RATCLIFFE | Sun 11th Dec 2016


Septuagenarian on a walking tour. - Rating 4/5

A friendly proprietor, good food, and a comfortable room. Just what the weary traveler wants.

Response

Thank you David. I hope you didn\'t find the walk to daunting on the busy road to Dumfries.

Reviewer:Mr. David Robertson | Sat 15th Oct 2016


excellent service - Rating 5/5

Would highly recommend due to excellent customer service. Facilities suited group of mature, older &younger adults which is not an easy task!! Host could not have been more obliging &helpful-just right. Would certainly return again. Hopefully the windows installation goes well!!

Response

Thank you for your kind remarks. Pleased to say Phase One of the windows replacement is now completed. Saving the pennies for Two. Hopefully we will see you again in the future. Take care. Ken & Caroline

Reviewer:Mr. Royston Buffery | Wed 10th Jun 2015


Pleasant place to stay - Rating 4/5

Very pleasant stay, and all the staff were very helpful.

Reviewer:Mrs. Laura Handford | Wed 29th Apr 2015


A very nice place to stay - Rating 4/5

Nice rooms, all staff very helpful, very nice place to stay.Loved the black labrador

Response

Thank you Laura for your comments. Mackie says its just as well someone loves him! Hopefully see you some time in the future. Ken

Reviewer:Mrs. Laura Handford | Wed 29th Apr 2015


Chris Read - Rating 5/5

The food was excellent and the people at the hotel were pleased to see me.

Reviewer:Mr. Christopher Read | Sun 31st Aug 2014


Overnight stay - Rating 5/5

Great overnight stay to celebrate birthday. Evening meal was excellent, everyone enjoyed their food. Service was excellent also, ALL staff friendly and helpful. Thanks for making my birthday memorable.

Response

Thanks for your comments Mark. They mean a lot to us. Glad everything went according to plan and look forwardto hopefully seeing you again in the future. (-Don't leave it till another BIG birthday though because I will probably be retired by then. Ken

Reviewer:Mr. Mark Fleming | Mon 12th May 2014


hotel stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent, Friendly staff with plenty of good local food and drink. I would happily recommend this hotel.

Response

thanks for your kind comments Carl, and hope to see you sometime again. Ken

Reviewer:Mr. Carl Rudge | Wed 5th Feb 2014


A Great Place - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed a fantastic stay in this wonderful hotel. After a long journey from London we were ready for a rest and some refreshment.... we LOVED steak night, locally sourced steaks cooked to perfection, washed down with great wine.We had a very relaxing evening in the bar;the owners, Ken and Caroline and their daughter Jacqui, are great hosts and it really feels like "a home from home".We can't wait to return to this tranquil place.

Reviewer:Mrs. Kerry Mcgrath | Sun 8th Sep 2013


A first and not the last visit - Rating 4/5

Communication was first class. Even with the restaurant closed on the day we were there the food was first class. The room was quiet. The service was excellent.

Reviewer:Mrs. Helen Gardiner | Thu 22nd Aug 2013


Highly Recommended - Rating 5/5

We stayed here for a week in May 2013. Our stay was excellent in all respects. The room was very clean and comfortable, the Owners and staff were very friendly and accommodating- nothing was too much trouble. We had dinner each evening-the food was excellent with plenty of choice each day. Highly recommended and a good base to explore Dumfries and Galloway. We will definitely visit again.

Reviewer:Mr. David Whiting | Sun 21st Jul 2013


Overnight Stop - Rating 4/5

Very warm welcome and service was excellent from all.The food we had in the evening and at breakfast was extremely good.The room we had was the small double, which was adequate for what we needed.Will stop there again.

Reviewer:Mr. David Hubbard | Sun 17th Mar 2013


winter break - Rating 5/5

Always a welcome and enjoyable stay. Nice vairable menu both in bar and restaurant, staff polite and helpful.

Reviewer:Mr. Roy Birks | Fri 2nd Nov 2012


Center Parcs Overnight - Rating 4/5

This is the second time we stayed at the Manor House Hotel, and I think that speaks for itself.Always hospitable with good food and a good beer after a long trip (from Oban).Will do it again when next going to CenterParcs in Penrith.

Reviewer:Mr. Steve Scott | Sat 13th Oct 2012


Tripto Dumfries - Rating 5/5

We stopped at the Manor country house hotel for one night,The family room was perfect and very nice and the beds gave us a perfect nights sleep.The breakfast was nice and perfectly cooked and served by the owner who made our stay a very enjoyable one .we all would consider stopping again in the future.

Reviewer:Mr. David Leam | Fri 17th Aug 2012


Nice and friendly - Rating 4/5

very good standard for the price, 5 miles outside of Dumfries (but by car no problem),very helpful and friendly owner family

Reviewer:Mr. Alexander Hamers | Thu 9th Aug 2012


Has Character! - Rating 5/5

My family and I stayed in the "Family Room"on 20 May, 2012.The room was huge, comfortable and clean in comparison to the other hotels we were staying in, which were small and cramped. Ken and his wife were extremely friendly, knowledgeable about the area and prepared a great breakfast in the morning. We left a DS game cartridge there and Ken mailed it back to us in the States. We will most definitely be staying at The Manor should we have the pleasure of returning to Scotland again!

Reviewer:Mr. Jeffrey Brown | Mon 23rd Jul 2012


lovely - Rating 4/5

The excellent points were:Very nice people running the hotelThe evident, proper home-madeness of things that others "cheat' on such as soup and sconesNIce sheets and towelsThanks to all the staff

Response

Thank you for your kind comments. I hope your journey back home was on time and hopefully we will see you again in the future in more pleasant circumstances. Kind Regards, Ken

Reviewer:Dr. Bridget Macdonald | Wed 2nd May 2012


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

Middle aged couple.Very enjoyable stay,everyone very friendly &helpfull.Nice,well - equipped room with nice little touches like bottled water.Lovely food &good breakfasts.Thought the hotel was good value &would stay again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Mary Smith | Mon 12th Dec 2011


excellent - Rating 5/5

GREAT FOOD AND ACCOMODATION.STAFF HELPFUL AND FRIENDLY. WILL DEFINITLY RETURN.

Reviewer:Mr. Herbert Paterson | Sun 31st Jul 2011


Very Comfortable Stopover - Rating 4/5

We stayed in hotel as a stopover, en-route to Liverpool from Stranraer.Very large family room which accomodates 5, with 4 poster bed for adults.As we were tired, we ended up having evening meal in hotel, and were not disappointed, as staff accomodated 2 of our party who required gluten-free diet.Only one criicism - teenage girls would prefer a lock on en-suite bathroom door!Happy to recommend.

Reviewer:Mr. David Douglas | Sat 2nd Jul 2011


overnight stay - Rating 4/5

Amazing hospitality, cheerful helpful staff, Every need catered for. good food aspecially breakfast!, clean, quiet, comfortable room. Plenty of parking. Only critisism is that shower needed updating. All in all a very satisfactory stay.Thank you.

Reviewer:Mrs. Beryl White | Fri 10th Jun 2011


Visit 2nd & 3rd June - Rating 4/5

Our stay was pleasant. The rooms, particularly bathroom, are on the small side but this was not a problem for our short stay

Reviewer:Mr. David Kilroy | Tue 7th Jun 2011